Creating a Production workspace

Workspaces in production mode are ready to receive traffic, that is, to be accessed by other account users.

Once you are sure of your changes performed in the Development workspace, it is time to create a Production one in order to test them with traffic.

But notice: a Production workspace is created from scratch, meaning it does not inherit the code changes performed in a Developer workspace. All changes performed in a Development workspace need to be replicated by you into your new Production workspace.

Step by step

  1. Log into the desired VTEX account;
  2. Run the following command:
vtex use {workspaceName} --production

⚠️

Remember to replace the value in the curly brackets according to your store's scenario and needs.

From this point onwards, any changes to the code are prohibited in the Production workspace, and you can only install new apps in it. This means that you are not able to link any app as well. If you want to change your code, work on it using a Developer workspace and then copy all the performed changes to a Production one.

Once created, the Production workspace has no expiration date, which means that settings will remain stored in it unless there is any conflict with the store's Master workspace configurations. In these cases, the Master settings will always prevail over the settings of the other account's workspaces, including the Developer one in which you are working, since the account's workspaces work as a copy of the version available to the end-user.

Stick to the list of workspaces created for your account. It is important to keep a shortlist for two reasons:

  • Your organization.

  • Spare platform infrastructure resources.

Currently, no service is responsible for automatically deleting unused workspaces from an account. This means that you must manually delete workspaces that are no longer being used by running vtex workspace delete {workspaceName}.

⚠️

Be aware: once you delete a workspace, it is not possible to restore it and its content.

Next step

Once all configurations are tested, you can promote the Production workspace to Master, making your code changes finally available to the end-user.

Creating a Production workspace is one of the steps to making your code's new version public, meaning that it will become available to your end-users. For more details on the next steps and better understanding the complete flow, access the recipe on Making your new app version publicly available.


Did this page help you?